Sarah Wertheimer, Executive Director

[email protected]
Sarah Wertheimer

Sarah oversees the creation and implementation of all programming and fiscal planning which has grown to impact more than 260,000 adults and children annually. She is also responsible for the development and implementation of all aspects of Embracing Our Differences' fundraising and community relations campaigns. Sarah oversees the organization's program growth and manages and implements the long-term sustainability goals. Sarah has spent the past eight years working in the local non-profit community. She has served as director of development at The Jewish Federation of Sarasota-Manatee, development coordinator at Children First and currently serves on the board of directors of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Southwest Florida. Sarah was born and raised in Sarasota and is extremely passionate about exposing our community to the concepts of diversity and inclusion and helping create a world where individuality is celebrated. Sarah was recently chosen to participate in Leadership Florida Connect Class VIII and was selected by SRQ Magazine as one of Sarasota's "30 Under 30."

Brenna Wilhm, Director of Operations

[email protected]
Brenna Wilhm

Brenna serves as the director of operations and is responsible for overseeing all of the Embracing Our Differences Education Initiatives and financial accounting. Having been exposed to the arts from a very young age, Brenna believes in the importance of the fine arts as an integral component in the development of every child. Brenna has spent the last 10 years in Sarasota specializing in sales & marketing and working for a private family foundation. Brenna studied violin at Oberlin College and has her Bachelor of Arts in Education. As a parent and an active member in our community, she values the Embracing Our Differences vision of creating a world that embraces diversity, respects differences and actively rejects hatred and prejudice.

*This position is funded, in part, through a generous grant from The Jewish Federation of Sarasota-Manatee.

Brian Hersh, Sarasota County Schools Liaison

[email protected]net
Brian Hersh

Brian Hersh is the Program Director for Any Given Child, Sarasota County Schools, a partnership with the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, where he oversees and implements the district’s strategic approach to arts education. Through his leadership, Sarasota County Schools has launched new arts programs, built new relationships with cultural organizations, and created more continuous, sustainable, arts integrated professional development. Previously, he served as Education & Outreach Director of Asolo Repertory Theatre, the largest professional theatre in Florida; he also worked at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts where he oversaw the Meet-the-Artist School Series. Mr. Hersh has a Bachelor of Musical Arts from DePauw University, where he currently serves on the Alumni Board. He also serves as liaison between EOD and Sarasota County Schools, bridging educational and community partnerships.

Board of Directors

Dennis McGillicuddy

Graci McGillicuddy

Richard Bergman

Larry Lev

Linda Poteat-Brown

John Weber

Sarah Wertheimer

Chief Judge Charles E. Williams

Kaley Wisner
STAR Student

Ambassador Circle

Diane Cohen, Chair
Genie Aberson
Marvin Albert
John Annis
Pat Baer
Don Bernstein
Karen Bernstein
Sonda Biller
Sheila Birnbaum
Fred Bloom, M.D.
Carol Camiener
Aundria Castleberry
Lee-En Chung
Geri & Leonard Drexler
Alice Cotman
Meredith Ernst
Kristofer Geddie
Arlene Greene
Teri A Hansen
Dr. Larry Haspel
Kathie Kaplan
Roxie Jerde
Nikki Logan-Curran
Joan Lowery
Leslie Malkin
Brian Mariash
Joy Moravitz
Gila Meriwether
Marilyn Naiditch
Ursula Nixon
Nick Owens
Anand Pallegar
Alfred Rose
Linda Rosenbluth
Jane & Paul Rosenstein
Tobi Schneider
Nancy Roucher
Janet Smalley
Clare Segall
Nancy Shapiro
Jeremy Shelby
Delia Smith
Dr. Joni Steinberg
Charlie Ann Syprett
Regenail Thomas
Gloria Tracy
Janet Udell
Dr. Tammy Walsh
Judy Weinstein
Kaitlin Yelle
*In Memoriam: Carroll Buchanan & Carol Poteat-Buchanan

Education Committee

Brian Hersh, Chair
Brittany Braniger
Christine Braun
Angela Hartvigsen
Julie Hebert
Carol LaVallee
Jennifer Mainey
Nancy Roucher

Quotation Selection Committee

Aundria Castleberry
Diane Cohen
Toby Deutsch
Arlene Greene
Kathie Kaplan
Linda Lipson
Nikki Logan-Curran
Joan Lowery
Jane & Paul Rosenstein
Nancy Shapiro
Bryna Tevlowitz
Patti Wertheimer

Art Teacher Retreat Committee

Angela Hartvigsen
Julie Hebert
Brian Hersh
Jess Nagy
Nancy Roucher
Dr. Tammy Walsh
Diane Zorn